Diary



Wednesday 9th January

I’M MELTING: Lively Up Yourself, Babylon By Bus, hungry to go live. Locked in a small room for weeks learning how to do things that…

Read more

Tuesday 8th January

ONE FOR DAVID: On principle I’m buying David Bowie’s new track. Space Oddity was up there with Lux Aeterna, Acid House & pirate radio when…

Read more

Monday 7th January

THE ROAD LESS GRAVELLED: The coffee hit the back of his throat, setting sparks behind the eyes. The he felt a growing guilt, it seemed…

Read more

Sunday 6th January

WE ARE BRIGADOONED: As we wake in gentle blue light the moon grins at us on it’s side before a fog envelopes us, low hiss…

Read more

Saturday 5th January

THAT RAW FEELING: I’m, trying to write about a journey along the banks of a river, people we meet, their stories, animals, names, idiosyncratic car…

Read more

Friday 4th January

IN PASSING: Found another shrine by the side of the road, two small bunches of flowers. What’s the story? All these lives, all these memories,…

Read more

Thursday 3rd January

THE YEAR OF THE DANCING STICKMAN: Through the gate & down the ash track into the forest. Past an old orchard  where we blew that…

Read more

Wednesday 2nd January

EXITING THE DREAM HOLE: Shellshocked expressions imerge from bleary dream holes. The mocking light of a damp day offers chill hugs that cling to the…

Read more

Tuesday 1st January

BEGINS WITH A SMILE: A four mile walk to the rhythm of rain, accompanied by naked dancing hedge rows. Heroic trees raise up on hind…

Read more

Monday 31st December

THANK YOU FOR THE DAZE TO COME: Sun sets on the city, the beacon of St Paul’s illuminates for revelling stumblers to navigate streets abandoned…

Read more

Sunday 30th December

WHAT’S THAT NOISE?: Got this growing desire to hear new music that’s raw & rough & vibrant. Visceral, unpolished, songs, lyrics from the gut &…

Read more

Saturday 29th December

STREET THEATRE: Watched an old oak frozen in the stance of it’s last dance like a Shinjuku grotesque from a Daido Moriyama photograph – street…

Read more

Friday 28th December

BLUE LEAVES IN THE RAIN: The blue oaks of Suffolk shower leaves on us as we hunch over steaming mugs – sweet hot chocolate at…

Read more

Thursday 27th December

DOWN THE OLE DOG N CAGE: In the silence before the household wakes, me & a dog in a cage respectfully don’t communicate. Sunrise, hidden…

Read more

Wednesday 26th December

IS THAT YOUR GRAT HE CHEWED?: Resisting all temptation he stepped back & watched beloved puddings disappear, enjoyed instead the happiness of revellers in paper…

Read more

Tuesday 25th December

PEAS ON EARTH: The banquet is set upon the table, all guests are gathered round, expectation on each face with radiant smiles beneath paper hats…

Read more

Monday 24th December

THE DAY IT STOPPED RAINING: The tribes of the north gather in the sarf baring gifts & smiles. Explosive conversations, unification questions, rooms flood with…

Read more

Sunday 23rd December

COUNTRY STYLE: The ceaseless rain falls onto fields, fields turn into sponges, empty into country lanes, roads become rivers, homes become islands, families stranded, a…

Read more

Saturday 22nd December

CASTLES MADE OF SAND: This is for the courier who gave me the thumbs up, the gallery who sold another painting, the beautiful person who…

Read more

Friday 21st December

DAY TWO OF ANOTHER END OF THE WORLD: A north London taxi exposed it’s self to me discretely, dressed as a bumble bee, concealing it’s…

Read more

Thursday 20th December

THE END OF THE WORLD AGAIN: When rain sticks to you like suet & friends spend seven hours stationary in traffic jams & the day…

Read more

Wednesday 19th December

FOG FLOATING: The old Bata Shoe Factory slips out of a luminous fog like a rusting & abandoned ship free-floating mid Atlantic, threatening to topple…

Read more

Tuesday 18th December

WHO STOLE THE STEPS?: A curious curve-ball day of phone call queues & changing plans that conspire to blow a fuse or inspire complaints. This…

Read more

Monday 17th December

DAMP, DARK, COLD & STARLESS: Perfect day for a train ride. Last Friday we drove from Barking Creek in Dagenham, to Coalhouse Fortress & the…

Read more

Sunday 16th December

YOU GOTT MOVE: A strong desire to pull on the walking boots & hit the road. The light is low & twisting. fields succulent, scattered…

Read more


Friday 14th December

DARK & COLD ETEC: Waiting for a cold damp train to a steaming cafe. Walk the streets, film, write, take photographs & hope somebody knows…

Read more

Thursday 13th December

KEYS IN THE SONG OF LIFE: He owned a beautiful piano that made you calm to play. It sounded best at sundown, just as the…

Read more

Wednesday 12th December

OUTSIDER ART: A ride in a dirty train from a sun soaked city where stark shadows dance naked above the heads of impassive shoppers. A…

Read more

Tuesday 11th December

THIS BROKEN BENDY MAN: His texts came in at 1:00am, saying, ‘thank you’ & ‘goodbye’.They found him lying in a field, close to death, more…

Read more

Monday 10th December

LIGHT! LIGHT! LIGHT!: Rivulets of electric lights hang from trees along the roadside celebrating our journeys in the dark cold wet of a Sunday evening.…

Read more

Sunday 9th December

SCRIBBLESTCIKS & STARS : Walking in a crisp wind, the aroma of Autumn leaf mould, the succulence of mud beneath our boots. Birds describe quick…

Read more

Saturday 8th December

KNOCK-KNOCK: When fear & loathing come to call, sunrise hits the spot. Sleep steps back & mocks as we bump into furniture in the dark.…

Read more

Friday 7th December

BLUE & A CHOCOLATE TREE: A late arrival for the diary, locked away with instruments of delight pulling songs to pieces, making music with a…

Read more


Wednesday 5th December

BEFORE VENUS: Silent as a cotton wool stadium, shovelling snow at 6:00am, missing your light. Finding humour in sculptural forms of cartoon proportions, building a…

Read more

Tuesday 4th December

VENUS: Venus waits for me before the dawn, where pink turns blue. All other stars run & hide, but Venus waits unflinching in her duty…

Read more

Monday 3rd December

TWICE A DAY: The Doctor said, “put this in your ear & squirt” I thought, “Looks like something I used to find in alleys” Twice…

Read more

Sunday 2nd December

UP EAST: The East End streets were peaceful, wandering, taking photographs of shadows & discarded things, The exotic food stalls had been concealed in abandoned…

Read more