Rick scores Danny Boyle’s new film Trance

Rick Smith continues his long-term working relationship with Danny Boyle by producing and composing the original score for ‘Trance’, Boyle’s first film since 2010’s 127 Hours.

Smith has also co-written a track, titled ‘Here It Comes’ for the film with multi Brit award winner Emeli Sandé.

Rick worked with both Boyle and Sandé in his role as Musical Director of the London 2012 Olympic Opening Ceremony.

At times mellifluous and gorgeously atmospheric and at others frenetic and claustrophobic, Smith’s eleven original pieces have been written exclusively for the soundtrack and come sequenced alongside familiar tracks specifically chosen by Boyle and Smith for use in key moments in the film (including music by Moby, Unkle and M People).

Danny Boyle says: “Trance reaches back to the darker more anarchic spirit of films like Trainspotting on which Rick was a key collaborator. The film is a puzzle of the protagonist’s own making and Rick’s music brilliantly drives the interior landscape of these characters as they try to solve it.”

‘Trance’, the soundtrack album is released on 25th March by Universal and the film opens in the UK on 27 March.


  1. Chanson D’Amour – Art & Dotty Todd
  2. Bullet Cut – Rick Smith
  3. Solomon – Rick Smith
  4. Here It Comes –  Emeli Sandé & Rick Smith
  5. Cannon Fall –  Rick Smith
  6. Sandman –  Kirsty McGee
  7. Raw Umber –  Rick Smith
  8. The Day – Moby
  9. Santiago (101 Greatest Goals) –  Rick Smith
  10. Hold My Hand –  UNKLE
  11. Bring It To Me –  Rick Smith
  12. Movin’ On Up – M People
  13. Soho Dim Sum – Rick Smith
  14. You Knew – Rick Smith
  15. The Heist – Rick Smith
  16. Sandman (I’ll be There) – Rosario Dawson & Rick Smith