Underworld: _beta 19.05.2019


  • Release date: 05 May 14
  • Format: CD / LP
  • Record Label: Warp Records, Opal Records
  • Cat. no: WARPCD249X

Listen on:

Brian Eno and Karl Hyde come together to create the album‘Someday World’ comprising of nine songs, composed and sung by Eno & Hyde together with a highly distinguished cast of supporting musicians, including Tessa Angus, Nell Catchpole, Marianna Champion, Will Champion, Kasia Daszykowska, Don E., Darla Eno, Fred Gibson, Georgia Gibson, Andy Mackay, John Reynolds and Chris Vatalero.

The release was produced by Brian Eno with 20 year old Fred Gibson, continuing an ongoing collaboration between Karl and Brian which sees the two together on a complete album for the very first time.

“A lot of the nicer cities I know are cities built on hills,
and the cities are beautiful because the buildings have a challenge to adapt to.
They have to mould themselves around the geology that they’ve formed upon.
And that always makes for very interesting buildings, because they can’t just be blocks, they have to somehow morph around the environment. A lot of the constructions on the album were deliberately irregular and awkward. I had a big collection of ‘beginnings’ sitting around waiting for something to galvanise them into life, to make them more than just ‘experiments’. That something turned out to be Karl Hyde.” – Brian Eno

“It’s a bit like being nine years old again. You have no idea what you’ve
just been given, the record button has been pressed and you’re on. And then
these unlikely patterns start to happen. The biggest surprise was discovering
we both had a love of Afrobeat, Cyclical music based in live playing. When
Brian played me these early tracks it was, ‘Oh my god, this is home!
Can I borrow a guitar?” – Karl Hyde

During the recording of their new album ‘Someday World’, Brian Eno and Karl Hyde kept a large whiteboard on one wall of the studio, onto which they wrote a series of rules to guide and challenge the creative process:

“Only Strong Feelings Please” / “Avoid Music” / “In Life Nothing Happens Twice” / “Ruthless Square Energy” / “Build Cities on Hills”

The last statements provided the inspiration for an app for iOS devices – ‘Eno • Hyde’ – which takes the classic medium of vinyl and fuses it with image recognition an augmented reality technology to meld the analogue and digital worlds.

Explore the ‘outsider architecture’ metropolises that grows around your vinyl copy of the album (or if you have a different format of the album here), soundtracked by ‘Strip It Down’ from ‘Someday World’.

The App is made by Lukasz Karluk, the creator of ‘HoloDecks’ and creative studio ‘Toby and Pete’

Someday World

  1. The Satellites
  2. Daddy’s Car
  3. A Man Wakes Up
  4. Witness
  5. Strip It Down
  6. Mother Of A Dog
  7. Who Rings The Bell
  8. When I Built This World
  9. To Us All